Chris Mason Award (Three Stars): Taylor Gauthier

The 2019-2020 Chris Mason Award goes to goaltender Taylor Gauthier.

The Chris Mason Award goes to the player with the most Three Star selections throughout the season. Gauthier was the backbone of the Cougars and when they won, he was almost guaranteed to by one of the three stars of the game.

“He put in the hard work this season to become one of our leaders. His focus and preparation helped him become one of top goalies. He is still young, still improving, and he has a great future ahead,” said Cougars’ General Manager & Head Coach Mark Lamb.

Gauthier set new career highs in wins (16), goals-against average (2.93), and save percentage (0.917). He led the Western Hockey League in minutes played (2870), was tied for first in games played (50), second in shots (1677), and second in saves (1537).

Chris Mason was a goaltender for the Cougars from 1994-1997, playing in 168 regular season and playoff games. He went to play over 300 games in the NHL spread over 11 seasons with Nashville, St. Louis, Atlanta, and Winnipeg. He also represented Canada at the IIHF World Hockey Championship and the Spengler Cup.

Throughout this week we will be announcing our 2019-2020 award winners. Winners will be announced at and on our social media channels.

More News
Dan Hamhuis MVP Award: Taylor Gauthier
2 days ago
Michael Fogolin Memorial Award: Jack Sander
2 days ago
Eric Brewer Defensive Player of the Year Award: Cole Moberg
3 days ago
Troy Bourke Offensive Player of the Year Award: Josh Maser
3 days ago
Spirit of the North Healthcare Foundation Humanitarian Award: Jack Sander
4 days ago
Cougars Select Two Players in Inaugural WHL U.S. Prospects Draft
4 days ago