Eric Brewer Defensive Player of the Year Award: Cole Moberg

The 2019-2020 Eric Brewer Award winners is defenceman Cole Moberg. The Eric Brewer Award is given to the Cougars’ top defenceman.

“Cole is an elite puck mover who possesses a heavy shot. This season he made a commitment to becoming a better defender, which allowed for steady growth in his game to become a true two-way defenceman,” said Cougars’ Associate Coach Jason Smith.

Moberg led all Cougars’ defencemen in scoring with 37 points (13-24-37) in 58 games. His 13 goals matched his career high he set a season ago. He ranked second on the team in assists and was third in goals and was second in power-play goals (10). He also improved his plus/minus by 19 points.

The top defencemen award is named after former Cougar Eric Brewer. Brewer played three seasons with the Cougars from 1995-1998, playing in 168 regular season games, amassing 14 goals, and 62 assists for 76 points. He was drafted by the New York Islanders in first round, fifth overall, in the 1997 NHL Draft. Brewer played over 1000 games in the NHL with the Islanders, Edmonton Oilers, St. Louis Blues, Tampa Bay Lightning, Anaheim Ducks, and Toronto Maple Leafs. He won an Olympic gold medal with Team Canada at the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Olympics.

Throughout this week we will be announcing our 2019-2020 award winners. Winners will be announced at and on our social media channels

More News
Dan Hamhuis MVP Award: Taylor Gauthier
2 days ago
Michael Fogolin Memorial Award: Jack Sander
2 days ago
Troy Bourke Offensive Player of the Year Award: Josh Maser
3 days ago
Chris Mason Award (Three Stars): Taylor Gauthier
4 days ago
Spirit of the North Healthcare Foundation Humanitarian Award: Jack Sander
4 days ago
Cougars Select Two Players in Inaugural WHL U.S. Prospects Draft
4 days ago