About the Prince George Cougars

The Prince George Cougars have been a proud member of the Western Hockey League since 1994. The Cougars play out of the CN Centre, a 5,971-seat multipurpose arena that opened in 1995. All Cougars’ games are broadcast on 94.3 The GOAT in Prince George and an audio stream is available on their website. All WHL games are available on WHL Live, the league’s pay-per-view video streaming service.

The Cougars are owned by EDGEPRo Sports & Entertainment Ltd. The ownership group bought the Cougars in 2014 and the group consists of former Cougars Dan Hamhuis and Eric Brewer, Ernest Ouellet, John Pateman, Greg Pocock and Raymond Fortier.

High school aged Cougar players attend Prince George Secondary School, and players who have graduated are encouraged and supported to take postsecondary classes through our two postsecondary institutions (University of Northern British Columbia and College of New Caledonia) or through online schooling. All schooling expenses are covered by the team. Cougar players are billeted with host families who are interviewed and approved by the team.

The Cougars are committed to providing affordable family entertainment in the form of high-caliber, competitive hockey, and to develop our players in a safe, positive, and professional environment. The Cougars are dedicated to developing our players athletic, educational, and professional talents.

About the Western Hockey League 

The Western Hockey League started with just seven teams based in the provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1966. The WHL now has representation in all four Western Canadian provinces and the U.S. States of Oregon and Washington. The WHL now consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 based in Western Canada and 5 in the U.S. Pacific Northwest.

Since its inception, the WHL has been regarded as one of the finest player development Leagues in the world and continues to not only be a leading supplier of talent to the NHL, but to Canada’s National teams at all levels as well as U Sports (Canadian University) hockey.

The WHL is a member of the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) whose membership is comprised of the three major junior hockey leagues; the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) and the Western Hockey League (WHL). At the conclusion of each League’s playoffs, the CHL hosts the Memorial Cup presented by Kia, a National Championship tournament involving each of the three League’s Champions and the tournament host.

The WHL offers top young prospects in Western Canada and the U.S. the opportunity to reach their full potential both on and off the ice, by providing an ideal environment to develop as a hockey player while not compromising their academic goals. All WHL Clubs graduate 100% of their players from high school and provide Education Advisors and support programs to assist players with their academics. The WHL Player Experience also includes comprehensive support programs such as Red Cross RespectEd, WHL Drug, Alcohol and Gambling Awareness, Drug Education and Anti-Doping, WHL Counselling Services, and CHL Concussion Management Program. In addition, the WHL Scholarship provides players graduating from the League with the opportunity to attend the post-secondary institution or career-enhancing program of their choice with one year’s tuition, books and compulsory fees for each season played in the WHL provided by WHL Club Ownership.